Warning! The following list of common human misfortunes are NOT happy-making.

Negativity, Not feeling good enough, Arguments, and Feeling defeated.

I’ve been convicted by this book and I can’t lie. The Magic of Thinking Big by David Shwartz talked to my feeling of inferiority, the negativity in and surrounding me, my argumentative spirit, and my feeling of defeat. If you’re human, you have most likely experienced at least one of these not-happy-making issues.

So my biggest desire is now personal growth. I want to do everything within my power to be the best me I can be. Going into 2015 there are a couple of things I desire to let go of; bitterness, unforgiveness towards others, and getting out of my comfort zone and just going for it.

But, I struggle with change. Change is hard for me, because it requires letting go of what others say about me, letting go of always wanting to be right, and really truly coming into my own person.

The two major points in this book that have helped me walk into 2015 with my head lifted and thinking BIG are:

  1. Put other people into proper perspective. The other person is just another human being, so why be afraid of him?
  2. Quarrels, arguments, feuds, and fusses will never help you get where you want to go.

Constantly reminding myself that this is just another person like myself with fears, worries, and issues. They probably are thinking about their own problems and are less concerned with what I’m doing, so I just need to stand up and do my own thing, say what I have to say and be unapologetic in the process. They’re human as well, and I have nothing to fear!

Secondly, I mentioned letting go of being right as a difficult change to make. What’s important in this is honestly asking myself, “Is what I’m irritable and frustrated about really worth it, is it worth frowning and being so stressed out about?”  It really isn’t worth it. So just listen and let the other person win the argument, don’t push it forward by making smart and witty remarks. It’s not worth it!

What are your you tips for overcoming negative attitudes, arguments, and overcoming the feelings of inferiority and defeat? Please share and follow!

Citation: Schwartz, D. (1987). The magic of thinking big. New York: Simon & Schuster.

4 thoughts on “The Magic of Thinking Big

  1. I rid negativity because of a decision I made after being sick of feeling down about things that didn’t even concern me. I got tired of it draining me and I finally separated myself from people and things that are draining. I was frank with those that I needed to be with and let them know that the negativity wasn’t helping anyone be productive. I lost a lot of friends a long the way when I decided to choose a different path. I had to remind myself “birds of the same feather, flock together.” and since I didn’t see myself as a negative person or want to continue I knew that those were some feathers that needed plucking.

    I’m still trying to figure out whether or not the feeling or inferiority is something that is a personal feeling and issue I should tackle within myself or if in fact people have the power to make me feel this way.

    Like

    • You hit me with I lost a lot of friends a long the way. I respect your bravery! Letting go of old friends, especially one’s you’ve been friends with for so long that are almost family can be difficult and even embarrassing. But at the end of the day, your mental and emotional stability are most important.

      That’s a challenge I’m taking up now, thank you!

      People only have that power when they know what gets to you. Otherwise what I also learned is, feel sorry for people who put you down, because they may be dealing with their own feeling of inferiority and keeping your distance like with the friends wouldn’t hurt either.

      It amazes me how humans all over tend to have the same problems in different forms. I’ve learned so much. Thank you!

      Like

  2. I do agree it’s amazing that humans all over tend to have the same problems in different forms. As far as friends go, once I hit 25 I made a decision on who to be around and who not to be around. Some of the friendships were painful to let go but I had to think about myself first. I had to square off my circles. What do I mean by that? Draw a circle and then draw a square on top of that circle. Look at the turns it forces you to make than doing the same thing over and over.

    Sometimes we get comfortable with those we’re around yet they’re not elevating us or taking us to where we want to go. Sometimes you have to be selfish with who you let in. I’m a work in progress. I get tired of those treating my friendship like it’s bronze mean while want theirs to be “platinum” you have to be selfish about yourself at times. It’s easier said than done trust me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

